5 Pillars of Islam

Pillars of Islam

The 5 Five Pillar of Islam are five basic acts in Islam. The 5 Pillars of Islam are the framework of the Muslim life.  They are the testimony of faith (Shahadah) Salat (prayer), Zakah  (support of the needy), fasting (Roza) during the month of Ramadhan, & the Pilgrimage to Mecca once in a lifetime for those who are able.

1. Shahadah: 

Shahadah is a saying professing monotheism & accepting Muhammad as God's messenger. Duvvam kalima

2. Namaz (salat) is the Islamic prayer. Salaat consists of 5 daily prayers: 

Fajar, Dhuhar, Asar, Maghreb, & Isha. Fajar is performed at dawn, Dhuhar is a noon prayer, Asar is performed in the afternoon, Maghreb is the sunset prayer, & Isha is the evening prayer. Each prayer consists of a certain amount of raka’at. A prayer either consists of 2, 3, & 4 raka’at. All of these prayers are recited while facing the K’aba in Mecca.

3. Roza (Fasting)

Every year in the month of Ramadan (9th month of the Islamic calendar (which is lunar, not solar)) all Muslims fast from dawn until sundown, abstaining from food, drink, & sexual relations.
Although the fasting is beneficial to health, it is regarded principally as a method of spiritual self purification.  By cutting oneself off from worldly comforts, even for a short time, a fasting person gains true sympathy with those who go hungry, as well as growth in his or her spiritual life.

4. Giving Zakaat – (Support of the Needy Poor people)

All things belong to Allah, & wealth is therefore held by human beings in trust. The original meaning of the word Zakah is both purification & growth. Giving Zakah means “giving a specified percentage on certain properties to certain classes of needy people”. 1/40th portion of the state and effects (Nisab) in possession for the span of one complete year. A person may also give as much as he or she pleases as voluntary aims or charity.

5. The Pilgrimage to Mecca:

Hajj is one of the Fifth basic articles of Islaam, which Farz (obligatory) on those who have the means of reaching there. His annual pilgrimage (Hajj) to Mecca is an obligation once in a lifetime for those who are physically & financially able to perform it.  About two million people go to Mecca each year from every corner of the globe.  Although Mecca is always filled with visitors, the annual Hajj is performed in the twelfth month of the Islamic calendar. Male pilgrims wear special simple clothes which strip away distinctions of class & culture so that all stand & equal before God.


Popular posts from this blog

The Six Pillars of Faith (Iman) | Foundation of Islam

Punishment in Islam for having Zina Before Marriage or after?

Hazrat Mujaddid Alf Sani Life & History | Karamat | Documentary - Story of Allah's Friend